Software Testing Techniques Questions and Answers

Software Engineering Questions and Answers – Software Testing Techniques

This set of Software Engineering Multiple Choice Questions & Answers (MCQs) focuses on “Software Testing Techniques

1. White Box techniques are also classified as
a) Design based testing
b) Structural testing
c) Error guessing technique
d) None of the mentioned

Explanation: Structural testing is the examination of a system’s or component’s structure. Because we are interested in what is happening “within the system/application,” structural testing is commonly referred to as “white box,” “glass box,” or “clear-box testing.”
2. Exhaustive testing is
a) always possible
b) practically possible
c) impractical but possible
d) impractical and impossible

Explanation: Exhaustive testing is when a single test case is run against many test data. It means that during manual testing, we are employing a single test case for several products or parts.

3. Which of the following is/are White box technique?
a) Statement Testing
b) Decision Testing
c) Condition Coverage
d) All of the mentioned

Explanation: White box testing is used in statement testing, decision testing, and condition coverage.
4. What are the various Testing Levels?
a) Unit Testing
b) System Testing
c) Integration Testing
d) All of the mentioned

Explanation: Unit, system, integration testing all of them are levels in testing.
5. Boundary value analysis belong to?
a) White Box Testing
b) Black Box Testing
c) White Box & Black Box Testing
d) None of the mentioned

Explanation: Boundary value analysis is based on testing at the partition borders and comparing the results to the expected results.
6. Alpha testing is done at
a) Developer’s end
b) User’s end
c) Developer’s & User’s end
d) None of the mentioned

Explanation: At the developer’s end, alpha testing takes happen. Users are observed and problems are noted by developers. Alpha testing is when an application is nearing completion of development. As a result of alpha testing, minor design modifications can still be made.

7. Which of the following term describes testing?
a) Finding broken code
b) Evaluating deliverable to find errors
c) A stage of all projects
d) None of the mentioned

Explanation: The process of evaluating a software item to find differences between provided input and expected output is known as software testing.
8. What is Cyclomatic complexity?
a) Black box testing
b) White box testing
c) Yellow box testing
d) Green box testing

Explanation: The quantity of decision logic in a programme module is measured by linear regression. The cyclomatic complexity of a module is the minimal number of paths required to produce all possible ways through it.
9. Lower and upper limits are present in which chart?
a) Run chart
b) Bar chart
c) Control chart
d) None of the mentioned

Explanation: A run chart is a graph that shows how a variable behaves over time in a process or system. Cycles, trends, shifts, and non-random patterns in behaviour are graphically represented in run charts. It has lower and upper bounds.
10. Maintenance testing is performed using which methodology?
a) Retesting
b) Sanity testing
c) Breadth test and depth test
d) Confirmation testing

Explanation: Maintenance testing is performed on software that has already been deployed. The existing software must be updated, replaced, or moved to new hardware. Maintenance testing is the testing done during this improvement, change, and migration cycle.

The many strategies or techniques used to test an application to verify it behaves and appears as expected are called to as software testing methodologies. These include unit and system testing as well as front-end and back-end testing. Maintenance Testing is carried out on software that has already been deployed. The existing software must be improved, modified, or transferred to new hardware. Maintenance testing is the testing done during this enhancement, change, and migration cycle. Unit/component testing, integration testing, system testing, and acceptance testing are the four recognised levels of testing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *